Best Opening Partnerships in IPL History

Best Opening Partnerships in IPL History
Written by Medhaavi Mishra

A partnership is very important in cricket. Any format like Test, ODI, or T20 is good if two batsmen form a partnership. Especially in T20 matches, the cricketers who come as the opening pair, if they play aggressively without losing a wicket, opponent team bowlers do not know what to do. Instantly, those teams will be the top choice in any IPL Betting avenue. 

There are many outstanding opening partnerships in the Indian Premier League. Almost all the best cricketers from many countries play in the IPL. So, in this article, let us know about the best opening partnerships in IPL history.

Highest opening partnerships in IPL History

Check out this table for the top 10 best-opening partnerships in Indian Premier League history.

S.noOpening partnershipRunsTeam
1Quinton De Kock and KL Rahul210Lucknow Super Giants
2Johnny Bairstow and David Warner185Sun Risers Hyderabad
3Gautam Gambhir and Chris Lynn184Kolkatta Knight Riders
4KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal183Punjab Kings
5Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway182Chennai Super Kings
6Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson181Chennai Super Kings
7Viart Kohli and Devdutt Padikkal181Royal Challengers Bangalore
8Chris Gayle and Tilakaratne Dilshan167Royal Challengers Bangalore
9Sachin Tendulkar and Dwayne Smith163Sun Risers Hyderabad
10Johnny Bairstow and David Warner160Sun Risers Hyderabad

Quinton de Kock and KL Rahul – 201 Runs

Lucknow Supergiants batsmen KL Rahul and Quinton de Kock top the list of most partnerships. They achieved this feat against the Kolkata Knight Riders team in the 2022 IPL. Quinton de Kock scored 140 off 70 balls, while KL Rahul scored 68 off 51 balls. The Kolkata team, which came to bat later, scored 208 runs in 20 overs. The Lucknow Super Giants won by two runs.

David Warner and Johnny Bairstow – 185 Runs

Johnny Bairstow and David Warner have the second-highest opening partnership for Sunrisers Hyderabad. They achieved this feat in the match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL 2019. Batting first, SRH Bairstow was dismissed for 114 runs, while David Warner also scored 100 runs.

Gautam Gambhir and Chris Lynn – 184 Runs

In the 2017 IPL match between the Gujarat Lions and Kolkata Knight Riders, Kolkata openers Gautam Gambhir and Chris Lynn achieved this feat. The Gujarat Lions scored a total of 183 runs in 20 overs. Among the Gujarat batsmen, Raina scored 47 and Karthik scored 68 runs. After that, the Kolkata team came to bat and won without losing a wicket. Chris Lynn and Gautam Gambhir made a partnership of 184 runs. Gautam Gambhir scored 76 runs, while Chris Lynn scored 93 runs.

KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal – 183 Runs

Punjab Kings batsmen KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal are at number 4 in the list of best opening partnerships. In the IPL 2020 season, a match between the Rajasthan Royals and Punjab Kings. Punjab team openers Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul batted brilliantly and put on a partnership of 183 runs. Mayank Agarwal scored a century, while KL Rahul scored 68 runs.

Devon Conway and Ruturaj Gaikwad – 182 Runs

Devon Conway and Ruthuraj Gaekwad, for Chennai Super Kings, are 5th on the list of best-opening partnerships. They achieved this feat in the 2022 Indian Premier League. Batting first, the Chennai team scored 182 runs without losing a wicket. Ruthuraj Gaekwad scored 99 runs, while Deven Conway scored 85 runs. Facing the best bowling line-up of Sunrisers Hyderabad, the Chennai openers formed a partnership without losing a wicket.

 Colculding Thoughts on Highest opening partnerships in IPL 

Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson ranked sixth With 181 runs, Virat Kohli and Devdutt Padikkal are ranked seventh With 181 runs, Chris Gayle and Tillakaratne Dilshan are ranked eighth with 167 runs, Sachin Tendulkar and Dwayne Smith are ranked ninth with 163 runs, and Jonny Bairstow and David Warner rank tenth with 160 runs. Let’s wait and see which opening cricketers will make record partnerships in the 2024 IPL season.

About the author

Medhaavi Mishra